One of Us Is Sleeping (Paperback)

One of Us Is Sleeping Cover Image
By Josefine Klougart, Martin Aitken (Translator)
$15.95
Usually Ships in 1-5 Days

Description


"Scandinavia now has its own Virginia Woolf. Few get as close to the human mind as Klougart" Mari Nymoen Nilsen, "VG"

The English-language debut from one of Denmark's most exciting, celebrated young writers, "One of Us Is Sleeping "is a haunting novel about loss in all its forms.

Working in the vein of Anne Carson, Josefine Klougart's novel is both true-to-life and incredibly poetic in its relating of a brief, intense love affair and the grief and disillusionment that follow its end. While she recounts the time with her lover, the narrator is also heading back home, where her mother is dying of cancer. This contrast between recollection and the belief that certain things will always be present in your life your parents, your childhood home, your love and the fact that life is a continual series of endings runs throughout the book, underpinning the striking imagery and magnificent prose.

A powerful novel that earned Klougart numerous accolades and several award nominations including the Readers Book Award "One of Us Is Sleeping "marks the launch of a major new voice in world literature.

Josefine Klougart has been hailed as one of Denmark's greatest contemporary writers. She is the first Danish author ever to have two of her first three books nominated for the Nordic Council Literature Prize. She's been compared to a range of authors, including Joan Didion, Anne Carson, and Virginia Woolf.

Martin Aitken has translated dozens of books from the Danish, including works by Dorthe Nors, Jussi Adler-Olsen, Peter Hoeg, and Kim Leine, among others.

About the Author


Author of four best-selling novels, Josefine Klougart (b. 1985) has been hailed as one of Denmark's greatest contemporary writers. She was the first Danish author ever to have two of her first three books nominated for the Nordic Council Literature Prize, Scandinavia's most prestigious award. Her work has also been nominated for the Readers' Book Award, and she received the Danish Royal Prize for Culture in 2011 with the committee stating that she is "one of the most important writers, not just of her generation, but of her time." She's been compared to a range of authors, including Joan Didion, Anne Carson, and Virginia Woolf.

Martin Aitken has translated dozens of books from the Danish, including works by Dorthe Nors, Jussi Adler-Olsen, Peter Hoeg, Pia Juul, and Kim Leine, among others. He was awarded the American-Scandinavian Foundation s Nadia Christensen Translation Prize, and was longlisted for both the Independent Foreign Fiction Prize and the IMPAC Dublin Literary Award."
Product Details
ISBN: 9781940953373
ISBN-10: 1940953375
Publisher: Open Letter Books
Publication Date: July 12th, 2016
Pages: 260
Language: English